Xunantunich Ruins Tour

  • pic1
  • pic2
  • pic3

There are numerous ancient structures around the Xunantunich site. It was the first Mayan ruin in Belize to be opened to the public when a road and hand cranked ferry bridge were built in 1954 to access the site. Xunantunich is an example of the "Classic" period of Mayan history, from about 300 A.D. to 900 A.D. The site was largely abandoned by the Mayans about 900 A.D., possibly due to a large earthquake in the region. The exploration of Xunantunich began in the late 1800's by the British.

Most tourists make a point of climbing "El Castillo", a 130 foot high pyramid near the center of the ruins. "El Castillo", which has been partially excavated and explored, was the tallest manmade structure in all of Belize until the discovery of "Canaa" at Caracol. The most notable feature on "El Castillo" is a remarkable stucco frieze on the east side of the A-6 structure. Three carved stelae found at the site are on display in the plaza. The name is Maya for "stone lady" and is derived from local legend. From the top of El Castillo you can enjoy a breathtaking panoramic view over the jungle canopy of the Macal, Mopan and Belize River valleys, as well as a vast area of the Guatemalan Peten District, which is only a few miles away.

Tour duration:  8 hours
Includes: Transportation, entrance fees and guide.


View Larger Map

booknow

Regional Sites

ss2

ss7

ss3

ss4

ss5

ss6

ss9

ss1

Contact Us

Explore - Latin America Experts
TOLL FREE: 1-877-889-1510
info@explore-belize.net

Follow us on social media:

Twitter Facebook